Solstice Blog Hop

 

 

 

Hello everyone! I’m excited today to announce I’m taking part in my first ever blog-hop!! The theme is the winter solstice – something that is particularly relevant for all of my readers in the Northern Hemisphere, but not so relevant to Australia at the moment. (Except perhaps for those of you sweltering it out in the warmer states, dreaming of a cool change!)

Read on for your chance to win a copy of my debut ebook ‘A Faery Dream’.

As you may be aware, I’m an Aussie,  and here in Down Under it’s getting closer to the Summer Solstice – the days are getting longer, the weather is getting hotter, and we are preparing for our usual Summer Festivities of BBQ’s and beers and beaches. Well – I don’t live that close to the beach anymore, but swimming is still high on the agenda.

Summer has always been my favourite time of the year – I love those extra hours at the end of the day to sit back and soak up some sunshine. So you might be wondering why I’ve joined a blog hop to talk about the Winter Solstice? Well, though this is somewhat of a paradox, the Winter Solstice is probably my favourite day of the year. I’m a little biased – my birthday falls around that time, but aside from that, I have a wonderful group of friends who get together to Celebrate Yule in Winter! It’s such a great time to gather and feast, everyone brings a meal to share and we end up with an amazing diversity of food, and always have a blast!!

Well… I’m having a surreal experience at the moment – this morning was gorgeous, bright sunshine, clear skies. Daughter and I were out in the garden, planting out a few vegies. But now I look up to banging on my roof to find it’s hailing!! Did I invite it in with my comment of ‘dreaming of a cool change’? Oops!

Hail!

Hail!

Check out that! 

Anyway, for those of you who are in a wintery climate at the moment, here’s some information on my ebook A Faery Dream, which hopefully will warm you up, and if you leave me a comment (even just say hello) you’re name will go into a hat to win one copy (PDF, mobi and epub versions available).

A Faery Dream

Ever had a dream you wished would come true?

Melissa is blessed, or cursed as she most often feels is the case, with the ability to dream true; an ability she knows was passed down from the mother she never met.

Now in her 30s, and plodding along in her failing relationship with Tom, Melissa is having dreams she wishes were prophetic.

Tall, strong and sexy Kellen lives in the forest, clad usually in nothing but a loin cloth. Though he makes her heart flutter, and is the man of her dreams in more ways than one, Melissa knows this dream is too far from reality to ever come true.

So when Kellen does turn up in Melissa’s life, with secrets from her past and plans for her future, can Melissa trust that this dream isn’t too good to be true?

Excerpt:

“I want… I don’t know.” Melissa shook her head. She didn’t want to share her innermost desires with this man, in case he was not the same as his dream twin. She raised her head and found herself looking directly into his eyes, his mouth inches from hers, and in a moment their lips pressed together in a kiss.

In that one action all the emotion and desire Melissa had suppressed since Kellen’s arrival burst to the surface. She no longer cared if he really was the man from her dreams or not. All Melissa wanted was to give in to the lust coursing through her body, damn the consequences. She brought her hands up to wind her fingers through his hair as she kissed him harder.

“I want you,” she whispered, choosing to let fate take control. He lifted her up and carried her to the stream, balancing across the rocks, kissing her all the while. When they were safely surrounded by trees, he found some soft, springy moss to set her down on. She lifted her head to kiss him again, bringing a hand to rest on his strong chest. She let it wander over his shoulder and down his arm, thrilling at the muscles rippling under her palm as he moved.

[CENSORED SECTION ;)]

“I feel…”

“Yes?”

She shook her head. “It’s foolish, we’ve only just met.”

“Have we?” He paused. “Perhaps we’ve really known each other forever.”

Melissa looked to see if he was teasing but could see no trace of it in his eyes.

“I…”

“Say it, Nyssa. Please.”

“I feel the same,” she said finally. “I think I…”

“…love you,” he said.

A jolt of fear cleared her mind and she pushed herself away from him as the reality of the situation hit her. She reached for her jeans and began to put them on, pulling her top over her head. “I can’t,” she said. “It’s too soon.”

Kellen sat up, panic evident on his face.

“I thought this is what you wanted,” he said.

“I’m sorry, Kellen.” She paused, took a deep breath. How was it that this man could be everything she wanted? How could he have emerged from her dreams into reality? She didn’t know. But now that he had she knew it would be foolish to let go of him so easily, to push him away. She reached out and took his hand.

“You’ve brought out feelings in me I’m not sure I actually believed were there. But we don’t know each other. I’ve barely ended things with Tom and now… I need to take this slow. You and I, we need to get to know each other first.”

Melissa saw the fear rise in his eyes at her words but he took a deep breath and spoke again.

“We already do, Nys. Through our dreams. Don’t you remember meeting in a forest, introduced by strangers who were also well-known friends? You don’t recall our picnic in the woods, when I leant in for our first kiss? What about the fertility rite, where we danced together with friends and family around the fire and then went off alone for our own celebration? We know each other intimately, Nyssa, more intimately than you realise.”

 

For a chance to win an ebook copy of A Faery Dream simply leave a comment below. Competition is drawn on 13th Dec.

Or if you can’t wait that long you can purchase it here:

direct from the publisher: http://steamereads.com.au/product/a-faery-dream/

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/A-Faery-Dream-Heather-Kinnane-ebook/dp/B00EJD780E/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1386301275&sr=8-1&keywords=A+Faery+Dream

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/A-Faery-Dream-Heather-Kinnane-ebook/dp/B00EJD780E/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1386301303&sr=8-2&keywords=A+Faery+Dream

Amazon AUS: http://www.amazon.com.au/A-Faery-Dream-Heather-Kinnane-ebook/dp/B00EJD780E/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1384313647&sr=1-1&keywords=A+Faery+Dream

All Romance eBooks: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-afaerydream-1268479-143.html

 

And don’t forget to check out the other blogs in the Solstice Blog Hop by clicking the link below!! 🙂

One thought on “Solstice Blog Hop

  1. Pingback: Winter Solstice Altars | Broomsticks & Cauldrons: A magickal journey to the Goddess

Leave a Reply

