Australian Women Writer’s Challenge 2014

awwbadge_2014

I’ve decided this year it’s time I signed up for the Australian Women Writer’s Challenge. I’ve been thinking about it ever since it’s inception in 2012, when I first heard about the challenge.

For those of you who haven’t heard of this before, the AWWC was introduced to try to rectify the gender bias that sees most books read and reviewed  are by men. Well that is a very brief explanation. 🙂 For the full history, visit the AWWC background page: http://australianwomenwriters.com/about/background-to-challenge/

If you sign up there are three levels: Stella – to read 4 books and (if reviewing) review 3,  Miles – to read 6 books and (if reviewing) review 4, and the Franklin to read 10 books and (if reviewing) review 6. Or you can set your own challenge!

To sign up visit the site: http://australianwomenwriters.com/2014-challenge/

Though I am usually an avid reader, there are some big things happening in my life this year, (more about those later) so I’ve gone for the Miles Challenge – to read 6 books –  though I plan to review every book I read. As I usually read quite widely I haven’t settled on a specific genre, so you can expect a bit of a mixture.

And I’ve actually already read the first one – AfterZoe by Amanda Hickie – so you can look forward to a review within the week!

If you’re an avid reader like myself, check it out, you may find you discover some amazing new authors. 🙂 And don’t forget, that if you read a book you love, please leave a review – every review helps the author! 🙂 (But please, if you didn’t like the book, try to give constructive criticism, as that is more helpful to the author developing their writing skills!)

One thought on “Australian Women Writer’s Challenge 2014

  1. Pingback: After Zoe – Amanda Hickie – first book for AWWC 2014 | Heather Kinnane

Leave a Reply

